Vulnerable moments

9 Nov

This morning I had to do something a bit scary at very short notice. Standing up in front of 18 pioneers to talk about fundraising and strategy. With one hours notice! They were all very friendly but I felt pretty vulnerable, especially after it was over. I guess I wanted people to rush up and tell me I did great. And that didn’t really happen.

Sitting with feelings of vulnerability can be a difficult thing to do. Choosing to be vulnerable, and so to risk failure, is a courageous choice.

I was inspired by this brilliant TED talk by Brene Brown on The Power of Vulnerability. It’s worth putting aside 20 mins to hear what she has to say, her findings are counter cultural and surprising. And good news for all of us who sometimes find things in life a little scary.

Leave a comment