The season of singing has come

14 Mar

It’s been 10 days since I last posted on the blog – and it’s felt like a long time. I’ve missed it. But I’ve been unbelievably busy too – and this is a good thing! As a freelancer, work is always up and down, unpredictable and unknown. January and February were barren. Hardly any work. Hardly any money. Hardly any hope. But, after two terrible months, things are looking up. I’ve suddenly got a pile of paid work to do (almost too much – but I am certainly not complaining!)

In other ways too, it feels like the darkness, bleakness and clouds of winter have past. I see it with my own eyes – daffodils springing up, spring sunshine, longer days, bluer skies. I see it around me and I feel it in my heart – not so heavy, sad or grey. My need to hibernate – to shut out the world, to stay in bed – has taken up its own hibernation. There is hope.

This hope does not live in denial. The winter might be past but it has not gone altogether. Cloudy skies can appear in spring too. But this hope need not fear the clouds when they come, for they too will pass.

As spring appears, and daffodils bloom, there is singing too. The songs of birds, the songs of children, the songs of those emerging from hibernation and embracing new life. A poet, many years ago, put it like this:

“See! The winter is past; the rains are gone and over. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land.”

This is my song today.

Let’s join in the singing.

Leave a Reply

