And then he sings

8 May

I’m not a big TV fan. Most of the time I could happily live without it. But every now and again, TV creates a magical moment. A moment that gives you goosebumps.

Last night I had one of those watching this:

Jonathan is only 17 years old. What an incredible voice.

I’m not a detective but I would guess that he has overcome some major fears and insecurities to become a singer. And for that I salute him. It can’t be easy growing up so much bigger (literally) than your peers. But then he sings, and everyone has to go quiet.

I’ve already seen this three times today on youtube. If you haven’t seen it yet, find two spare minutes and enjoy!

2 Responses to “And then he sings”

  1. Caroline Tysoe 09/05/2012 at 13:46 #

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog a few days ago when I put in a google search for a line in Song of Songs… I am so glad I did, I am enjoying your interesting and refreshing outlook on failure and life.

    I have just watched the video above as, like you, I’m no telly addict! Wow – tears and goosebumps for me. It reminded me of something I have been pondering since yesterday, sparked from a sentance in the book ‘The Top Five Regrets of the Dying: A life transformed by the dearly departed’ by Bronnie Ware…In it she says of her internal terror in performing (she is a singer songwriter amongst other things) “…every day I continued to walk the creative path was one of courage.” Jonathan, like Susan Boyle, is a person of courage and as I watch his stunning performance I find myself saluting him, while for the first time really understanding what it may have cost this young man to take to the stage.

    I wonder if you are familiar with the work of Brene Brown? Check her out on TED – it’s well worth the visit if you have not come across her yet.

    Caroline

    • beccamcg 09/05/2012 at 13:57 #

      Thanks Caroline for your comment – I love the courage quote too! I actually wrote a post a while ago on Brene Brown and her vulnerability talk on TED, I really like her perspective.I don’t watch much TV but could watch TED talks all day long!

Leave a Reply

